/* Added for full RSS */ /* end code for rss */

2010 Simulated Car Racing Championship

Daniele | | Friday, March 12th, 2010

We are pleased to announce the start of the 2010 Simulated Car Racing
Championship, an event joining three simulated car racing
competitions held at:

  • ACM GECCO-2010, Portland (USA), July 7th – 11th
  • IEEE WCCI-2010, Barcelona (Spain), July 18th – July 23rd
  • IEEE CIG-2010, Copenhagen (Denmark), August 18th – August 21st

News! We are very pleased to announce that the Demolition Derby Competition will be run in conjunction with the 2010 Simulated Car Racing Championship at GECCO-2010 and at CIG-2010 (more information on the Demolition Derby Competition are available here).


The goal of the championship is to design a controller for a racing car
that will compete on a set of unknown tracks first alone (against the
clock) and then against other drivers. The controllers perceive the
racing environment through a number of sensors that describe the
relevant features of the car surroundings (e.g., the track limits, the
position of near-by obstacles), of the car state (the fuel level, the
engine RPMs, the current gear, etc.), and the current game state (lap
time, number of lap, etc.). The controller can perform the typical
driving actions (clutch, changing gear, accelerate, break, steering the

New Features

The 2010 Championship introduces several innovations in comparison with the
2009 edition:

  • the range of the proximity sensors have been increased from 100m to 200m
  • the position of the range finders can be customized by users
  • new focus sensor provides accurate sensing of the road ahead
  • noise is introduced to range and proximity sensors
  • drivers now control the clutch
  • a new warm-up stage allows drivers to learn about track properties before the qualifying

Previous competitors can enter the competition with only small additional effort since the 2010 APIs are very similar to the ones used for the 2009 edition.

Rules and Regulations

The championship consists of nine races on nine different tracks divided into three legs, one for each conference, involving three Grand Prix
competitions each. Teams will be allowed to submit a different driver to each leg.

Each Grand Prix consists of three stages:

  • the warm-up
  • the qualifying
  • the race

During warm-up, each driver races alone for 100000 game ticks
(approximately 30 minutes of actual game time) on each track. Drivers
can collect useful information about the tracks and can tune their
behaviors for the next stages. Accordingly, the performance of drivers
in this stage is not taken into account for their scores.

During the qualifying stage, as in the previous edition, each driver
races alone for 10000 game ticks on each of three three tracks of the leg
(approximately 3 minutes and 20 seconds of actual game time per track).
The eight controllers that bridge the longest distances qualify for
the actual Grand Prix races.

During the final races, these best eight drivers race together.
The races consist of eight runs on each of the three tracks.
At the end of each race, the drivers are scored using the F1
system: 10 points to the first controller that completes the race,
8 points to the second one, 6 to the third one, 5 to the fourth, 4 to
the fifth one, 3 to the sixth, 2 to the seventh, and 1 to the eighth.
The driver performing the fastest lap in the race will get two
additional points. The driver completing the race with the smallest
amount of damage will also get two extra points. The starting grid of the
first race will be based on the performance obtained in the qualifying
stage. Each subsequent race, the starting grid will be shifted by one so that
each driver starts from every position of the starting grid exactly once.

As in the previous edition, the tracks used in each leg are unknown to
the competitors.

Championship Legs

Each leg will focus on a specific track type and will involve a
different number of laps:

  • American Leg (GECC0-2010), three motor speedways and 50 laps.
  • Formula Leg (WCCI-2010), three technical (F1-like) tracks and 15 laps.
  • Dusty Leg (CIG-2010), three dirt tracks (involving non-asphalt streches and bumps) and 25 laps.

How to Submit

Entries have to be submitted by email to scr2010@sigevolution.org
Further information on what you have to submit are available here.

Important Dates

American Leg (GECCO-2010)

  • Submission deadline: June 27th 2010
  • Conference: July 7th-11th 2010

Formula Leg (WCCI-2010)

  • Submission deadline: July 7th 2010
  • Conference: July 18th-23rd 2010

Dusty Leg (CIG-2010)

  • Submission deadline: August 8th 2010
  • Conference: August 18th-21st 2010

Competition Software


For inquiries send an email to scr2010@sigevolution.org or visit the Car Racing Google Group at


Organizing Committee

  • Daniele Loiacono, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Luigi Cardamone, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Martin V. Butz, University of W├╝rzburg, Germany
  • Pier Luca Lanzi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI