/* Added for full RSS */ /* end code for rss */

2009 Simulated Car Racing Championship

admin | | Wednesday, February 11th, 2009

Three conferences, three competitions, one championship!

We are pleased to announce the first Simulated Car Racing Championship, an event joining the three simulated car racing competitions held at:

  • IEEE CEC-2009, Trondheim (Norway), May 18th – May 21st
  • ACM GECCO-2009, Montreal (Canada), July 8th – 12th
  • IEEE CIG-2009, Milan (Italy), September 7th – 11th

The championship consists of nine races on nine different tracks divided into three legs, one for each conference, involving three Grand Prix each. Teams will be allowed to update their driver during championship, by submitting a different driver to each leg. Each Grand Prix consists of two stages: the warm-up and the actual race. In the warm-up, each driver will race alone for 10000 game tics, approximatively 3 minutes and 20 seconds of actual game time. The eight drivers that will cover the more distance will qualify for the race.

In the second stage, the eight drivers will race together. Each race consists of ten trials. The goal of each trial is to complete five laps from a randomly generated starting grid. At the end of each trial, the drivers will be scored using the F1 system: 10 points to the first controller that completed the three laps, 8 points to the second one, 6 to the third one, 5 to the fourth, 4 to the fifth one, 3 to the sixth, 2 to the seveth, and 1 to the eighth. The driver performing the fastest lap in the race will get two additional points. The driver completing the race with the smallest amount of damage will receive two extra points. The final score for each driver in the Grand Prix will be computed as the median of the 10 scores collected during the trials.

Winners will be awarded based on their scoring in each conference competition.

At the end, the team who will score more on all the three legs will win the championship.

Important Dates

  • May 8th 2009: submission deadline for the competition at CEC-2009
  • July 1st 2009: submission deadline for the competition at GECCO-2009
  • September 1st 2009: submission deadline for the competition at CIG-2009


Organizing Committee

  • Daniele Loiacono, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Julian Togelius, IDSIA, Switzerland
  • Pier Luca Lanzi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI